CD Reflection Blog III – SMM Class

Do YOU Like Spam??

Do YOU Like Spam??

Greetings Readers!

Revisiting Reflections was the general theme for my two SMM objectives this past week… or, what I would describe as a little R & R:    🙂  

  • Revisit WordPress.com blog comments, including Spam and learn more about Akismet
  • Revisit two objectives from last week after additional WordPress and HTML training on Lynda.com
    • Embed YouTube video in blog
    • Attach Slideshare presentation to blog

Objective One — While moderating blog comments, I replied back to one of them (a first for me). I also noticed several comments that had been sent to Spam by Akismet over the past 2 weeks.  I felt learning more about this would be a perfect learning objective this week.

Now don’t laugh at me, but “Spam” reminds me of Hawaii, as it is very prevalent there.  Ok, ok, yes, that is a different type of SPAM, this is true!  But some love it and some hate it; so, you see there is another similarity between the Hawaiian and Internet based Spams!  You either LOVE it (aka you are participating or generating it!), or you HATE it (aka you are the unwelcoming recipient of it on your Blog, Website, Email, etc.). It seems to crop up everywhere, right?  And, if it’s unwelcome to you, you are also trying to sift through what in fact truely is spam versus what may be legitimate!

View Spam Lovers in Paradise Here!

Looking into this further I learned of Akismet as a valuable resource.  At first glance, Akismet appeared to have placed several “suspect” comments in a separate moderation folder titled Spam, where I could easily identify for closer review. In doing so, I noticed a couple comments which appeared genuine. I was about to “accept” vs. “trash” them; however, hesitated in doing so, thinking,  How do I REALLY KNOW FOR SURE? 

“Help!!”, I thought, “I must also consult my SMM circle of influence. I certainly do not want to accept any well disguised Spam!”  So, as Social_Skelly says, “stay tuned”.  I will pose this to @MktgFiends and provide their feedback on a future SMM reflection blog.

In the meantime, here’s some helpful information I found on www.akismet.com/how:

5 things every blogger should know about spam

1. Web spam is different from email spam.

2. Web spammers are social engineers.

3. Web spammers are basically advertising on your blog..

4. It’s all about the backlinks.

5. Spammers employ humans.

                                  How can Akismet help?

Akismet monitors millions of blogs and forums, watching the methods and tricks used by spammers in real time. We know all about their spambots, comment factories, buffer sites and social engineering tricks. Akismet will use this knowledge to warn you when a spammer – automated or human – tries to sneak a spam comment past you. So if you notice a comment in your spam folder from someone you don’t know, or linking to a web site you’ve never seen before, take a good look at it before you hit the Unspam button: in all likelihood, Akismet put it there for a reason.

Objective Two– This one related back to creating a YouTube account, embedding videos and using Slideshare social media to insert slide presentations into blogs.

Last week I confessed setting up a YouTube account to the wrong email account. This week I corrected that by creating one linked to my SMM email account and deleting other erroneous YouTube subscriptions!  While in YouTube selecting subscription channels, I also linked to Google+ profile and selected some interior design related connections.  Yet another SMM +, LOL!   I’m still trying to figure out how to embed a YouTube video after viewing the Lynda.com training videos, so again, I plan to seek out my @MktgFiends in class.

As for Slideshare, it will have to wait until a future blog, as I am finding my newer Spam/Askismet related learnings taking higher priority right now!!  I’m sure you can related to that, as priorities and objectives should be reviewed and changed continually, according to what fits best toward your ultimate goal(s).  Would you agree?

That about sums it up for this week. I look forward to continue learnings & reflections.

Thank you for visiting designbycd — I welcome Your SMM Reflections and feedback,

CD

2 thoughts on “CD Reflection Blog III – SMM Class

  1. One of the common traits I see in blog spam is the use of a business name in the username field of the comment. Have you seen this yet? Often times the comment itself will look legit, but this trait is what betrays its true nature.

Leave a Reply

